157 things I’ve thrown

Today I recycled a dress I bought about 15 years ago. My in-laws (soon to be ex) are very traditional. We have to wear ‘auspicious’ colours like red, pink or orange for Chinese New Year, weddings or birthdays. I don’t like these colours. Over the years, I’ve had to buy pink, red and orange clothes just for these occasions. Over the next year, I will be throwing them away!! Looking forward to wearing clothes I like 🙂

Yesterday I threw out a red blouse.

On Wednesday, I threw out a pink cardigan.

On Tuesday, I threw out a sexy white top with a front flap which opens tantalisingly when the wind blows. I bought this even before I bought my red dress, about 20 years ago. Those were the days when I wore slinky, low cut stuff.

On Monday 31st July, I threw away my last piece of silky lingerie.

lingerie

Wearing lingerie is all about wanting to feel sexy. I can’t see myself wanting to feel sexy again.

On Sunday, I threw away a lavender blouse. The cut really fitted me nicely but it’s one of those low cut clothes I can’t bear to wear anymore.

On Saturday, I threw away old Hello kitty pyjamas. In the last 4 years, I’ve been wearing track pants to sleep. Cotton pjs are not warm enough.

On Friday, the 150th day, I went through a couple of boxes in the attic and found the Green curtains meant for J’s room. She changed her mind after less than 1 year of use. But they were too good to throw.

On Thursday, I threw away expired, clumpy aloe vera.

On Wednesday, I recycled a nice stationery kit given to J when she attended a US uni talk.

On Tuesday, I recycled a handbag holder. You know one of those things you clip on a table in a restaurant and hang your handbag underneath? Firstly, I don’t carry handbags anymore. Secondly, it had a picture of a couple. I remember getting it instead of cake at a wedding. These days, no one gives little boxes of fruit cake at weddings anymore. I’ve received ‘creative’ gifts from coasters to key chains. But not cake 😦

handbag holder

On Monday 24th July, I threw away a lipstick that melted! I’ve only had it for a year.

On 23rd and 22nd July, I recycled 2 notebooks. I’ve been saving them because I’m a writer. I write a lot. But when N put some of her lovely unused notebooks in the recycling bag (a few were given to her by me), I saved her notebooks for myself. So I gave up 2 of mine (so plain in comparison).

On 21st  July,  I decided to give away an unused pack of New Jersey playing cards. I had bought it when I went to visit my brother. I thought it would make a nice souvenir for my kids but none of them wanted it. These days, kids prefer online games.

Speaking of actual physical toys, on Thursday, I recycled a brand new packet of pick-up sticks. I had saved it from one of the kids who got it from school and wanted to throw it away. Why did I bother?

cards, pick up sticks

On 18th and 19th July, I threw out 2 body shop lotions- 1 vanilla, 1 green apple. They were given to me by my sis who didn’t like them. I tried to use them even though I wasn’t crazy about their scent. I hate waste. But after a few months, I felt life was too short to use lotion I don’t like.

From 15th to 17th July, I threw away more expired medicine – Cortisone, Telfast and Zyrtec.

So far, I’ve thrown 157 things. I haven’t regretted anything I’ve thrown. Yet.

2 thoughts on “157 things I’ve thrown

  1. Throwing things away is so freeing! Especially when they come with unwanted memories. I’ve just found your blog and think what you’re doing is great – good luck with the rest of your journey. (I’ve also never come across handbag holders before… I too would prefer cake).

    Like

Leave a Reply

